The Washington County School Board consists of nine elected members from three political districts. In recognition of their efforts in providing leadership and direction for the improving school program, this group was honored as the Tennessee School Board of the Year by the Tennessee School Boards Association in 2007. The Washington County Board of Education has been recognized by TSBA as a Board of Distinction since 1998.





Keith Ervin, Level 4

Mr. Ervin was elected in 2006 to represent the First District. He graduated from David Crockett High School in 1984. A member of the Planning, Athletics, Student Discipline, Bid Review, and Calendar Committees, Keith serves as chairman of the Family Life Committee and Sick Leave Bank. He is a member of Bethesda Methodist Church. A self-employed dairy farmer, Keith serves on the Board of Directors of the Washington County Farm Bureau and has served as member of the State Advisory Committee. He is married to the former Amy Rhew and they have two daughters, Ashley and Brooke, who attend David Crockett High School.
Committees: Policy, Planning, Athletics, Bid Review, Student Discipline, Calendar, Joint Education


Todd Ganger, Level 2

Mr. Ganger was elected in 2008 to represent the Second District. He graduated from David Crockett High School in 1990. Mr. Ganger serves as chair of the Athletics and Bid Review Committees. He is a member of the Jonesborough United Methodist Church and is employed by the Johnson City Power Board. Todd has dedicated many hours to area children through work with community athletics. He has two children, LaRae, who attends Tennessee Wesleyan and Joseph who attends King University.
Committees: Facilities, Athletics - Chairman, Bid Review - Chairman, Safety, Family Life, Inservice, Policy, Collaborative Conferencing 


David Hammond, Level 2

Mr. Hammond was elected in 2010 to represent the Third District. He graduated from Unicoi County High School and attended East Tennessee State University before graduating from the Gemological Institute of America. Along with his wife, Kelly, they own and operate Hammond Management, a commercial and apartment rental company. Mr. Hammond is also licensed in Health and Life Insurance. He is a former board member of the Northeast Tennessee Regional Character Counts Advisory Board and a delegate to the Washington County Republican Party. Mr. Hammond is past president of Boones Creek Elementary School and Boones Creek Middle School PTO. He is a member of Boones Creek Christian Church.  His daugher Emma attends Daniel Boone High School and daughter Kennedy attends Boones Creek Elementary.
Committees: Finance - Chairman, Planning, Athletics, Ethics, Inservice, Calendar, Collaborative Conferencing, City/County Liaison, Policy, Facilities


Jack Leonard, Level 2

Mr. Leonard was elected to the Board in 2010 to represent the First District. He is a proud graduate of the Washington County School System, having graduated from David Crockett High School in 1981. He received a B.S. degree in 1985 from East Tennessee State University in History/Political Science and obtained his teaching license in 1992. His Masters in Education was acquired from Tusculum College in 1997 and a Specialist Degree in Education from East Tennessee State University in 2004 in Administration.  Mr. Leonard is employed with the Johnson City School System as a Gap Closure Coordinator and IB Coordinator at Science Hill High School.  He is a member of Trinity Baptist Church where he has served as deacon, Sunday school teacher, disciple leader and Sunday school director.  Jack is married, he and his wife, Jill, have three boys, Noah, Will, and Garrett. All three attend Washington County Schools.
Committees: Finance, Ethics, School Healthy Advisory Council, Sick Leave Bank, Facilities, Inservice, Curriculum, Bid Review, Joint Education


Clarence Mabe, Level 3

Mr. Mabe was elected to the Board of Education in 2002 to represent the Third District. He earned a B.S. and an MA degree at East Tennessee State University. Coach Mabe retired from the Washington County School System where he taught physical education. He coached boy's basketball and baseball at Fall Branch High School. At Daniel Boone High School, he coached the women's varsity basketball team and the varsity baseball team. Mr. Mabe is co-owner of S & M Amusements, Inc. and is a resident of the Gray community. He is a member of Crossroads Christian Church. Mr. Mabe is married to the former Jama Cookie Gosnell. Their two sons, Bucky and Rusty, both graduated from DanieBoone High School.

Committees: Facilities - Chairman, Planning, Athletics, City/County Liaison


Phillip L McLain, Level 5

Mr. McLain has been a member of the Washington County School Board since 2004. Mr. McLain resides at 1813 Hillsboro Avenue, Johnson City. He has lived in Johnson City over twenty-five years after graduating from East Tennessee State University with a B.S. in Accounting. He served for six years in the United States Navy. He retired from Valleydale Foods, Inc. as the Western Regional Sales Manager, after 24 years of service. He is a member of Telford United Methodist Church. Mr. McLain is married to the former Carla Brabson of Jonesborough.

Committees: Finance, Planning - Chairman, Safety, Ethics, Human Relations, Family Life - Chairman, Student Discipline


Mary Lo Silvers, Level 5

Ms. Silvers was elected to the Board of Education in 1996 to represent the Second District. She holds Bachelor of Science, Master of Arts, and Education Specialist degrees from East Tennessee State University. Ms. Silvers retired from the Washington County School System after 41 years of teaching at Lamar High School and David Crockett High School. She belongs to the Washington County Retired Teachers Association and is a member of First Baptist Church, Jonesborough. She currently serves as chairman of the Planning, Ethics, and Policy Committees of the Board.
Committees: Ethics - Chairman, Sick Leave Bank, Policy - Chairman, Safety, Planning, Calendar, Human Relations, Curriculum